Foundation In IT Service Management

This official ITIL® Foundation certification course provides you with a general overview of the IT Service Management Lifecycle which is outlined in ITIL’s five core books – Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement. ITIL’s “service lifecycle” consists of 26 processes and four functions.

This course prepares participants for the examination leading to the Foundation Certificate In IT Service Management. The exam is 60-minute, 40 question, multiple-choice format; a passing mark of 65% is required to receive your certificate. Two sample exams are delivered during the course to help prepare attendees for the final exam.  

Learning Outcomes

The course is designed as an introduction to ITIL and enables you to understand how an integrated ITSM framework can be utilized to achieve IT business integration, cost reductions and increased productivity. The agenda includes:
  1. What is ITIL; its strategic and operational benefits; and an overview of ITIL’s certification program
  2. ITIL’s key concepts, definitions and objectives
  3. ITIL’s “service-driven lifecycle” approach, and the structure, components and processes and functions of the five core ITIL books. For each of the five core books and the related processes and functions, the course provides:
The course prepares you for the examination leading to the Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management. This certification is the prerequisite for the Intermediate and Expert levels of ITIL certification.

Who Should Attend?

ITIL Foundation is suitable for anyone working in IT services requiring more information about the ITIL best practice framework.


There are no mandatory prerequisites, however it is recommended that you read through the ITIL Foundation syllabus prior to the start of the course. Work experience in IT services is recommended.

Advanced Curriculum

Students wishing to advance their ITIL education, can take any of the following individual courses or may decide to attain the Expert Certification. The ITIL Expert path requires a total of 22 credits: 2 credits for Foundation in IT Service Management (required) 15 credits at the intermediate level (any combination of courses) and 5 credits for Managing Across the Lifecycle (mandatory). Once the Expert Certification is achieved, a candidate can pursue the Advanced “Master” Level certification.

The Practitioner level is the next stage in the ITIL scheme. It has been developed to provide a step between Foundation and the Intermediate Level and aims to improve the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL in their organizations. This course is three days in length and worth three credits.

There are two “streams” or paths of curricula that students may choose to take. The Lifecycle courses focus upon gaining a deeper understanding of each lifecycle phase. These courses are three days in length and are worth three credits.

The Capability courses cluster cross-process activities that are traditionally implemented together or that have co-dependent inputs and outputs. This format encourages students to take courses that are applicable to their specific area of expertise. These courses focus on higher levels of learning; beyond knowledge and comprehension and include: applying and analyzing and evaluation and synthesis. Each course requires pre-course self study and homework may be assigned. All students must attend the instructor lead class and are required to have ITIL Foundations or Bridging Certificate.

*For questions or to register, please contact: Jill Zimmerman – or 703-547-7827

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.